Myanmar National League

The MPT Myanmar National League (abbreviated MNL) is the premier national professional football league of Myanmar. In 2009, the league replaced the Myanmar Premier League, which consisted only of 14 Yangon-based football clubs, with eight professional clubs representing different regions across the nation. On 16 May 2009, the league launched its inaugural two-month tournament, the Myanmar National League Cup 2009 in preparation for the first full season in 2010. Despite its national ambitions, the league held the MNL Cup 2009 matches in the country’s two main stadiums in Yangon due to the lack of adequate facilities elsewhere. On 5 July 2009, Yadanabon FC defeated Yangon United FC in the MNL Cup final to become the first-ever MNL Champions.

The league added three clubs for the 2010 season and one more club joined for the 2011 season, bringing the total to twelve clubs. Two more clubs representing the Chin and Shan States will participate in the MNL season starting in January 2012.

Promotion and relegation will be added by the 2014 season as the MNL looks to expand once again.

Champions By Years

Year Winners Runner-Ups
2009 Yadanabon FC Ayeyawady United FC
2010 Yadanabon FC Zeyar Shwe Myay FC
2011 Yangon United FC Ayeyawady United FC
2012 Yangon United FC KBZ FC
2013 Yangon United FC Nay pyi Taw FC
2014 Yadanabon FC Yangon United FC
2015 Yangon United FC Yadanabon FC
2016 Yadanabon FC Yangon United FC
2017 Shan United FC Yangon United FC

Player of the Year

Year Player Club
2009 Yan Paing Yadanabon FC
2011 Kyaw Ko Ko Yangon United FC
2012 Kyi Lin Yangon United FC
2013 César Augusto Yangon United FC
2014 Thiha Sithu Yadanabon FC
2015 Aung Thu Yadanabon FC
2016 Aung Thu Yadanabon FC
2017 Aung Thu Yadanabon FC